help | add your award | login / update | cookies
Powered by
You are here: Home / Goldman Environmental Prize
Award Name Goldman Environmental Prize
Address 1 Lombard Street
Suite 303
San Francisco CA
Telephone 415-788-9090
Fax 415-788-7890
Email Click here to send an email

Main Contact
Contact Award Organiser

Details The Goldman Environmental Prize is the world's largest prize program honoring grassroots environmentalists. Nominated confidentially by a network of renowned environmental organizations and environmental experts, recipients are chosen for their sustained and important environmental achievements. The Prize offers these environmental heroes the recognition, visibility and credibility their efforts deserve.

Entry Requirements Nominations are accepted from only two sources: a network of 31 internationally known environmental organizations, and a confidential panel of environmental experts from more than 45 nations, including citizen activists and prominent policymakers. There is no application for the Goldman Prize, and unsolicited nominations are not accepted.
Entry Fee None
Criteria Summary Goldman Environmental Prizes are awarded for sustained and important efforts to preserve the natural environment, including, but not limited to: protecting endangered ecosystems and species, combating destructive development projects, promoting sustainability, influencing environmental policies and striving for environmental justice. While the Prize encourages diverse environmental objectives, these basic premises guide the Goldman Environmental Prize Jury: Private citizens and grassroots initiatives are given priority over scientific, academic or governmental activities. Government employees are eligible only for work outside the scope of their official responsibilities. Recent achievements that have enhanced the environment and inspired others form the basis of recognition. The Prize is not a lifetime achievement award, nor is it given posthumously. Goldman Prize winners often are literal and figurative "voices in the wilderness," men and women from isolated villages and inner cities who are willing to take great personal risks to safeguard the environment. The Prize legitimizes the voices of these grassroots champions and provides them with: International recognition that enhances their credibility, Worldwide visibility for the issues they champion, and Financial support to pursue their vision of a renewed and protected environment.
Judges Richard N. Goldman, Trustee; Douglas E. Goldman, M.D., Trustee; John D. Goldman, Trustee; Susan R. Gelman, Esq., Trustee; Anwar Fazal, Development Programme, Malaysia; Geoffrey Lean, Environmental Journalist, England; and Alvaro Umaņa, Former Environmental Minister, Costa Rica.
Cash Value USD$125,000 each ($750,000 total)
RSA Accredited No

Established 01/04/1990
Last Award 19/04/2004
Next Award No date entered
Closing Date 31/05/2004

Previous Winners 2004 - Margie Richard (North America); Rudolf N. Amenga-Etego (Ghana); Rashida Bee (India); Libia R. Grueso Castelblanco (Colombia); Manana Kochladze (Georgia); Demetrio do Amaral de Carvalho (East Timor) 

2003 - Julia Bonds (USA); Odigha Odigha (Nigeria); Maria Elena Foronda Farro (Peru); Von Hernandez (Philippines); Eileen Wani Wingfield & Eileen Kampakuta Brown (Australia); Pedro Arrojo Agudo (Spain).

Other Info See Web site for detailed history and video of all 101 recipients from 61 countries. 2004 will mark the 15th anniversary of the Prize and its 100th recipient.

Last updated 09/03/2005