help | add your award | login / update | cookies
Powered by
You are here: Home / One World Media Awards - Television News Award
Award Name One World Media Awards - Television News Award
Address 3 - 7 Euston Centre Regent's Place
Greater London
Fax + 44 (0)207 8747641
Email Click here to send an email

Main Contact

Details To recognise excellence in the communication of sustainable development and human rights

Entry Requirements All entries must be concerned with the developing world: Asia, Africa, Latin America, Caribbean, Eastern Europe, or the Former Soviet Union. Entries must have been broadcast or published in a recognised publication for the first time in the UK between 24th March 2003 and 21st March 2004, except for The Campaign Award and the International Premier Award.
Entry Fee £79
Criteria Summary THE JUDGES WILL BE LOOKING FOR WORK WHICH: Is concerned with stories or issues from the developing world. Has made these stories or issues accessible and relevant to UK audiences. Includes the voices and views of people in the developing world. Demonstrates investigative, journalistic or production flair, as well as the highest standards of journalism and programme making. Required great perseverance or bravery to realise. Communicates how the lives of the world’s rich affect the security of the world’s poor. Indicates possible solutions as well as exploring the problems of the developing world. (Not all of these criteria are required in any single entry)
Judges Each jury will consist of four individuals, distinguished members of their profession, drawn from the ranks of commissioning editors, producers, press editors, broadcasters and film makers. Ensuring absence of bias, jurors are chosen on stature, independence and relevance.
Sponsors BBC; Save the Children; Action Aid; Unicef UK; Christian Aid
Cash Value
RSA Accredited No

Established 14/06/2000
Last Award 12/06/2003
Next Award No date entered
Closing Date No date entered

Previous Winners 2003 - Romanian Sex-Slave Trade, Channel 4 News

Other Info **This award category will not run in 2004**

Last updated 09/03/2005